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Optimize PPC for Roofers: 17 Tips to Implement Today

Taylorr Payne Headshot

Taylorr Payne
Chief of Marketing and Technology

The whole goal of this article is to answer one simple question: how do you optimize PPC for roofers?

These 17 tips have been tried and true for our roofing clients and I know for a fact they’ll work for you, too.

17 Tips to Optimize PPC for Roofers

How Do You Optimize PPC for Roofers?

For my quick readers, here are the 17 tips:

1. Have a plan before starting a roofing PPC campaign

2. Know which pay-per-click platforms to display on

3. Understand of your sales numbers

4. Set a reasonable PPC budget

5. Know your audience

6. Don’t overlook roofing keyword research

7. Negative keywords matter, don’t forget them

8. Setup roofing ad groups

9. Keep track of your quality score

10. Optimize your bidding strategy

11. Optimize your landing pages

12. Optimize your ad copy to evoke emotion

13. Implement roofing remarketing campaigns

14. Run campaigns with conversion tracking

15. Don’t be afraid to pause the underperforming

16. Monitor your PPC campaign manually

17. Never stop optimizing

By the end of this article, you’ll be fully equipped to optimize your own roofing PPC campaign. I’ll also provide a download link to our new roofing PPC eBook.  As always, if you have any questions or would simply like to leave a comment, please do so at the end. I’d love to hear from you! Without further ado, let’s get to the 17 tips to optimize PPC for roofers.

1. Have a Plan Before Starting a Roofing PPC Campaign

I know this seems like common sense but hear me out. Whether you’re a roofer or not, you have to decide on the focus of your campaign.

What are you selling? What do you want to promote?

Perhaps, its your best-selling roofing services, or emergency roof repair. Regardless of what it is, knowing what you want to promote as a business owner is essential to a well-crafted PPC campaign.

Think About Your Ideal Client

Who do you want to see this ad? Why are they searching for your services? What might they be feeling?

Putting yourself in this mindset will give you a great understanding of what ad copy to write or maybe what your landing pages will look like (I’ll cover both of these topics later in this post).

What’s the Goal of the Campaign?

Is it to drive sales? Generate phone calls or email sign-ups?

The beautiful thing about pay-per-click advertising is it’s measurable. Everything about an ad gets recorded. This allows you to set objectives and KPIs (key performance indicators, like the number of phone calls generated) to measure how PPC is directly effecting your roofing business.

Without specific goals and KPIs, optimizing your roofing PPC campaign becomes impossible. So, make sure you set them early on!

2. Know Which PPC Advertising Platforms to Display On

There are really only two advertising platforms to consider for a roofing PPC campaign. The first is Google Ads, formerly Adwords and the second is Bing Ads.

They both function very similarly and in fact, if you have a working ad set on one platform, chances are, it’ll perform the same on the other platform.

As far as how the ads display, the two platforms are more or less the same. You have the search network, display network, and partner sites. For example, if you’re advertising on Bing, your ads will also show up on Yahoo’s platform as well. If you’re advertising with Google, you have the opportunity to also advertise on YouTube.

So, which ad platform should you use for a roofing PPC campaign?

Follow the 90/10 Strategy

We recommend starting on Google since they own 94% of the U.S. search engine market share. However, if you can support it, we recommend investing 90% of your roofing PPC budget into Google Ads and the other 10% in Bing Ads.

This strategy gives you the opportunity to determine how each platform performs for your roofing business. If you find that Bing works better than Google for your demographic, you’ll be able to see that right away and make adjustments accordingly.

The 90/10 strategy allows you to put the majority of your investment into Google Ads since it has the most market share while also testing out the demographic using Bing Ads.

3. Understand Your Sales Numbers

Understanding your sales numbers is crucial for roofer PPC optimization. If you recall from tip #1, we talked about setting goals and KPIs for your PPC campaign. By knowing your sales numbers, you can easily predict how much you need to spend to hit your goals.

Let’s run through an example:

One of our roofing clients has an average closing percentage of 20%.

They also have about $1,500 to spend on paid advertising each month and their average cost-per-click is $15.

$1,500 / $15 = 100 clicks to their site each month

On average, we see about 10% of the clicks generated to their site convert into a lead. In other words, out of the 100 clicks they received, 10 of them turned into a potential customer and contacted our client.

Keeping in mind our client’s 20% close rate, they closed 2 new deals as a result of their PPC investment.

With an average of $4,000 in profit from each job, they banked $8,000 after their $1,500 investment. 5x return on ad spend – not bad!

Given this example, you can see how having a firm grasp on your sales numbers can help set the right goals towards optimizing your roofing PPC campaign.

4. Set a Reasonable PPC Budget

The easiest way to set yourself up with a successful roofing ad campaign is to set a reasonable PPC budget.

This is why knowing your sales numbers is so important. If you know you need three roofing jobs per month and your close rate is 20%, you need 15 new leads generated from PPC each month.

Using the example from tip #3, if you know your on-site conversion rate is 10%, 150 clicks need to be generated to your site each month to have a shot at getting 15 new leads.

By using a tool like Keywords Everywhere, you can search for keywords you’d like to compete for and get a better idea of the CPC (cost-per-click) for each keyword.

Minneapolis Roofing CPC Example - TrafficCrafters Optimize PPC for Roofers Blog Post

In the example above, the CPC for “emergency roof repair” is $12. After doing some research in the area for other keywords, the average CPC is around $10.

This means for 150 clicks, it’ll cost about $1,500/month in ad spend.

Optimizing PPC for roofers gets a whole lot easier when a realistic budget is set in place. Be sure to do your research before deciding how much to spend.

5. Know Your Audience

In order to get a grip on your audience, start by answering these questions:

– Can you describe the demographic of your most frequent roofing client?
– What’s the age range of your most frequent buyer?
– How is your audience finding your business? Why did they choose to contact you?
– Is your audience apprehensive about anything in the purchase cycle? Why might they feel that way?
– What appeals to your audience? What scares or excites them?

If you don’t have the answers to some of these, that’s okay! But, now’s the time to get into it before you start to optimize your roofing PPC campaign.

Getting a Grip on Your Audience

Marketing Land does a great job outlining 7 different ways get to know your audience better. I won’t outline all of them here but the biggest takeaway I have from it is to simply get to know your clients personally. Be aware of their concerns, their apprehensions, the things that made them confident in their purchase, how they feel about the process overall, I could keep going!

Constructing ads and copy that targets these emotions is critical to any roofing PPC optimization strategy.

The thing is, too many businesses look at the audience they don’t have and not at the one that’s generated their revenue to being with. You’ll be amazed at how much you learn.

6. Don’t Overlook Roofing Keyword Research

Look, keyword research really isn’t that complex. It’s simply understanding what people are searching for and how competitive it is to show up for that keyword.

Back in tip #4, I briefly touched on the browser extension, Keywords Everywhere. You can use tools like this and Google’s free Keyword Planner to determine how many searches a keyword is getting per month, how competitive it is, and what the cost-per-click is. After that, you’ll be able to use your keywords to create ads and ad groups.

Breaking Down Roofing PPC Keyword Research

Let’s say I’m a roofer looking for clients that need hail damage repairs, asphalt shingle roof replacements, and I also want to stay within my city.

I’d use Keywords Everywhere and run Google searches for keywords I’d like to show up for. Here’s a few examples:

– city + hail damage repair
– hail damage roof repair in city
– hail damage roofing companies
– asphalt roofing company
– roof replacement company in city
– asphalt roofing services
– shingle roof replacement in city

The list will go on and on. You’ll notice similarities among the keywords like those with a city in the keyword phrase and those without. You might also notice replacement-based keywords and repair-based keywords. These similarities will ultimately make up your ad groups (more on that in tip #8). As you find keywords, be sure to keep track of them in a spreadsheet or Google Keyword Planner.

Another thing to note about keyword research is it’s not a “one and done” thing. You’ll want to keep an eye on the competition and cost-per-click to optimize your bidding strategy in addition to finding new keywords. As an agency, we do this constantly with our client’s accounts. However, if you’re doing this yourself, once every couple weeks is great.

The bottom line is keyword research is 100% necessary. It’s not an option if you expect to optimize your roofing PPC campaign.

For an in depth guide to PPC keyword search, you’ll want to check out this post on Medium. I’ll be making a massive guide for PPC roofing keyword research in the next couple months so stay tuned!

7. Negative Keywords for Roofers Matter, Don’t Forget About Them!

Now that you’ve found the keywords that you’d like to show up for, it’s time to consider the keywords you don’t want to show up for. These are called negative keywords.

Without the right negative keywords on your campaign, you’ll eat up your entire ad budget and, as a result, see no roofing leads from it.

Examples of Roofing Negative Keywords

– The names of your competitors
– Lowes, Home Depot, Menards, etc.
– Association
– hire, hiring, employment, etc.
– Bulk, supplier, roofing supplies, etc.

As you can see, there’s really no way people searching for those keywords will turn into roofing leads. So, the best way to handle that is by adding them as negative keywords.

I can’t stress this enough when it comes to optimizing PPC for roofers. Negative keywords are just as important as the keywords you want your ads to show for.

8. Setup Roofing Ad Groups

What ad groups should you set up for roofing? We talked briefly about the concept of ad groups in tip #6 but let me provide a few more examples how we might separate the ads into groups.

Scenario 1: If someone’s searching for hail damage repair, they might search “hail damage near [city]”, “hail damage repair”, “hail damage repair estimate”, etc. . All of these are potential keywords to display ads for under a “hail damage” ad group.

Scenario 2: Maybe someone’s just searching for general roofing repair. The keywords we want ads for might be, “roof replacement near me”, “roofing company”, “roofing contractor”. These can all be grouped under a “general roofing” ad group.

These groups can then be taken another step further by adding geo-modifiers which allow us to show (or not show) ads in a specific location. So the ad group that was “general roofing” might turn into ad groups like, “general roofing Minneapolis”,  “general roofing Saint Paul”, etc.

The key to ad grouping is to simply put similar service keywords in the same ad group. Setting your roofing PPC account up this way establishes hierarchy among the keywords and create to a higher converting campaign.

9. Keep Track of Your Quality Score

If you’re like me and like to maximize every dollar you spend in ads, you’ll love this tip!

As defined by Google, Quality Score is an estimate of the quality of your ads, keywords, and landing pages. It’s on a scale of 1-10 and it analyzes metrics like clikthrough rate, ad revelance, and landing page experience.

If you’re like me and like to maximize every dollar you spend in ads, you’ll love this tip!

In short, if your ads convert well, your keywords are targeted properly, and your landing pages are suitable to Google’s standards, you’ll be rewarded with lowers prices and better ad position. And consequently, more of your ad spend put to use.

With this in mind, to optimize PPC for roofers, you need to focus on the quality of your ads, keywords, and landing pages. Hang tight – more on that in tips #11 & #12.

Check out these best practices for guiding PPC optimizations based on quality score.

10. Optimize Your Bidding Strategy

Bidding strategy is a fairly large topic so I’ll do my best to sum up what I can about using bidding strategy to optimize PPC for roofers.

Advertising platforms realize the intent of a shopper changes drastically depending on the industry you’re in. Some websites are looking to generate leads, some are looking to drive more purchases, and some are simply looking to drive website visits. With all of this in mind, there’s a few different strategies we use to optimize PPC for roofers.

Enhanced Cost-Per-Click Strategy

The eCPC strategy comes in handy when you’re looking for a bit more control on your bids. This strategy is great to optimize PPC for roofers in particular because it allows you to segment queries with the highest likelihood of converting into a lead and bidding on those.

Keep in mind that this strategy is far from hands-off because you’re modifying your bids based on any nuances. Meaning, if you know mobile users don’t convert, or pricing varies drastically in a specific location you’d like to advertise in, an eCPC strategy might be a good fit.

Cost-Per-Acquisition Strategy

You’ll want to use the CPA strategy if you have specific goals you want completed on your website. This could be submitting a contact form, downloading an eBook, or clicking to call. Setting up conversion tracking is pretty straightforward (see tip #14), it just requires you to take a step back and analyze what goals you want your visitors to complete. This is the most common automated bidding strategy we see for roofers. Google has a guide if you’re looking for more on automated bidding.

11. Optimize Your Landing Pages

If you recall from tip #9, one of the metrics that determines your Quality Score is landing page experience. This basically just boils down to how well your landing page works on devices, how fast it loads, the CTR rate of the landing page, and so forth. For a complete guide to landing page best practices, check out this awesome guide from our partners at unbounce.

For roofers, landing pages are great tools to generate leads and interest in your services. I won’t go into depth about what your roofing land pages should look like in this article, because this is about optimizing your landing pages.

Once you’ve created a landing page based on the best practices, it’s important to keep testing variations of it. These variations will help you increase the conversion rate of the landing page as you experiment with titles, colors, or maybe even the layout. At TrafficCrafters, we use unbounce to build and test variations of landing pages and highly recommend using them for your endeavors if you aren’t already. I’ll include a link to 20% off your first 3 months with unbounce at the bottom of this post under Freebies if you’d like to give them a try.

12. Optimize Your Ad Copy to Evoke Emotion

It should come to no surprise that working on ad copy is essential to optimize PPC for roofers. This is why knowing your audience is so important.

In tip #5, we talked about the questions you should be asking to understand your audience more. To create compelling ads for your audience, fill the copy with powerful emotional triggers. A PPC strategist at WordStream found that ad copy that combined a promotion and some sort of flattery improved CTR by 29%.

Now, I’m not saying you have to flatter your audience when writing ad copy, but it’s obvious that promoting and provoking human emotion has a significant effect on how users interact with your ads.

Treat optimizing your roofing ad copy like a science. I’ll go on more about this in tip #15, but don’t be afraid to prune what isn’t working and keep iterating to improve your CTR. This might take some time as your familiarize yourself with your users behavior but if you start early, you’ll have the greatest chance of optimizing your roofing PPC account further.

13. Implement Roofing Remarketing Campaigns

Remarketing is exactly how it sounds. You’re simply marketing to users who have already taken action on your content. Whether that’s clicking an ad, watching a video, or visiting a certain page on your site, when optimizing roofer PPC, you can use remarketing to show ads to get them to come back and complete the conversion goal.

The whole idea behind remarketing is finding the people who have already shown enough interest in your service and getting them to complete the goal you set (call, send an email, download an ebook). Remarketing is highly effective for optimizing roofing PPC campaigns because you’ll increase your chances of getting a conversion from your already interested users.

14. Run Campaigns with Conversion Tracking

Back in tip #9 about bidding strategy, we talked about the importance of having conversion goals on your site for a successful roofing PPC campaign.  Conversion tracking helps by assigning goals to your ads so you understand how they’re performing. It also gives you the chance to drive your campaign forward backed behind data of what’s working and what’s not working.

What goals do you want your visitors to complete on the site? Is it calling you? Emailing you? Downloading an eBook? The reality is you might have different goals for each of the ad groups you run but you still need to know how they’re performing. This is why conversion tracking comes into play.

Getting conversion tracking set up through AdWords is a really simple process as I stated earlier (see the video above). It’s more about understanding what you want from your visitors after clicking on an ad.

15. Don’t Be Afraid to Pause the Underperforming

The whole goal of this article is to optimize PPC for roofers, right? Well that means, there’s no time for underperforming ads, ad groups, or keywords. If you’re looking to actually maximize every dollar you’re putting in, you’ll have to go in, get your hands dirty and change things around.

I know it’s not the most fun to redo an ad group or find better keywords than the ones you thought were going to work to begin with. But, that’s the beauty of pay-per-click advertising: it’s measurable. You always know how you’re performing and you can act to make changes as soon as you deem necessary. This brings me into my next point – the importance of monitoring your campaign manually.

16. Monitor Your Campaign Manually

It’s really important to me, especially when building out a roofing PPC account for the first time, to monitor everything that’s happening manually. There’s no doubt that you can pay an exorbitant amount per month towards maintenance software, but initially, take the time to understand your account. The more you understand the changes that make you profitable versus the changes that don’t, the easier it’ll be to optimize your PPC roofing campaign down the way.

I’m not trying to devalue PPC monitoring software. I’ve simply seen from experience that monitoring the account manually, while it’s growing, produces far better results in the long term. Once you really understand your account, feel free to employ a software that helps you. I personally vote for the human touch every time to optimize PPC for roofers.

17. Never Stop Optimizing

Back in tip #6 about keyword research, I touched briefly on the fact that you should never stop optimizing your keywords. The same fact applies to literally everything else in your PPC campaign.

Whether it’s ad titles, descriptions, or graphics, it should best tested and iterated upon. At the end of the day, you have to remember you’re giving money away for Google (or Bing) to choose when and where to show your ads. If you had the opportunity to optimize every dollar you were spending on ads, wouldn’t you? Well, luckily, you have that opportunity. Don’t miss out on extra roofing jobs each month because you think your campaign is “fine where it’s at”.

Continuously test, improve, optimize, and repeat and I promise you’ll see results.

Conclusion

Well, you made it to the end! I hope you found this guide to optimize PPC for roofers helpful and informative. As our blog continues to grow, so will the depth we’ll be able to provide on each topic. If you liked what you read please share! Chances are, someone else will find this useful, too.  If you have a question, or would simply like to leave a comment, please do so below. I’d love to hear from you!

As a thank you for reading (and hopefully sharing) this post, you’ll find a link to download our complete guide to increasing roofing leads while decreasing cost.

 

Talk to you in the comments!

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Taylorr Payne
[email protected]

Thanks for reading! I'm the CEO of TrafficCrafters. I write about website design, SEO, PPC, and CRO (so many acronyms!). I'm dedicated to teaching the world about how to craft the highest quality traffic and convert it. I strive to teach about the importance of balance between design, functionality, and technicality. Let's connect in the comments!

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Optimize PPC for Roofers: 17 Tips to Implement Today

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